My comments on your comments. Part 2

You can read part 1 here.

Today, I will only do one because this one covers a lot and it will be long. Before I start, I just need to say I think it is very interesting that I hear these things from multiple people. It really proves how much the food industry has the majority of us brainwashed. I felt so empowered and proactive as I started making a conscious effort  to not let these assholes make me and my kids sick and be used in their money making game. As I started finding more like-minded people who supported and helped me find the right kinds of foods, I got stronger because the fog in my brain literally cleared. I cleansed my body of the chemicals and addictive processed crap. My body began to function the way it was meant to. I became a new person, and more of who I truly am.

This one is kind of touchy for most moms. I take it personally every time someone says these kinds of things because of my own experience (which I will share). So, my response to this subject is driven by my own passion and concern for my own children. When I hear it from others, it sparks something in me that is hard to subdue at times.

#4 “But what do I feed my kids while I am on this diet?” or “My kids won’t eat that and they’ll starve.”

Just let me get out of the way first of all that if I hear someone call this a diet one more time, I am going to freak the hell out. STOP. It just simply is not a diet. And that should answer your question about what your kids will eat. You are changing your LIFE. If it is good enough for you to eat, WHY IN THE HELL would it not be good enough for your kids? Is it okay to feed them crap just because they are getting something in their bellies? But at what cost? Does it honestly make you feel better knowing that they just got closer to getting obesity and numerous sicknesses because you were too lazy to cook them a nutritious meal? None of us have enough time in the day. None of us have enough patience every single day. None of us want to spend extra time and money to go out and buy healthy food and then prepare it all day every day. But how bad do you want you and your kids to stop being fat, unfit, unhealthy, and sick? For me, the need to feel better and do everything in my power to help my kids be healthy outweighed the want of a quick easy “meal”. The truth is there really is something to be said about taking the time to prepare nutrient rich, real food for you and your family. It is THE most loving thing you can do for you and the people you love. That is really ALL YOU HAVE TO DO. And it is NOT that hard to learn how to do after you really consider the pro’s and con’s. Part of this new lifestyle should be re-learning how to feed our bodies and souls. The number one way to do that is to prepare and have ready, real, whole, food for you and your kids. All day. Every day. You teach your kids everything they need to know about life. This should be on the top of the list, because it literally is a matter of life or death. PLEASE take this more seriously. It isn’t just a matter of easy and fast.

My son was about 20 pounds overweight when I started this change. We had just gone to the doctor for his check up, and we got the “talk” from the doctor about how he is overweight for his age. That moment was very surreal for me. And I kept picturing him in my mind as a huge fat teenager. My heart was breaking for him. And I felt helpless. My son has always been very lean growing up. He was starting puberty and in the phase right before a kid has a growth spurt so I, and our family and friends, just kept saying that that was the reason for his being fat. It would have been easy for me to just stay stupid, and pass the blame and play the victim. But, the voice in my head was screaming at me. That HONEST voice that we talked about before. I KNEW deep down, that this was all my fault. I am the one who buys his food and gives it to him. I am the one who offered him crap day in and day out. I am the one who was teaching him how to feed himself crap and how to defend it with a list of excuses. I was doing this because I was too lazy and unhealthy and ignorant to do anything different. It was harder than I could have ever thought to stand up, admit I was doing this to him, and tell him I was sorry and that we were going to fix it. I was driven by my initial motivation to get these changes started, so I ran with it. That kid jumped on board so fast, it blew my mind. All I did was change the type of food that we all ate. Within a few months he had lost over 20 pounds.

When I decided to start changing the way I ate, I refused to buy a whole separate load of groceries for the family. Instead, I started changing their favorite meals into healthy versions. I threw away trash bags full of crap. I found recipes for things that were sweet to help ease them off of the addiction. I was at the store almost every day at first trying to find everything I needed in order to make clean healthy food and pack them healthy lunches. And I did this all as I was sicker than I had ever been, going through my own withdrawal. As we all started seeing how easy it was and how much better it all actually tasted, it sparked dinner conversations about these changes and the snowball just grew from there. I love so much that now, if you ask either of my kids about the way we eat, they will tell you EVERYTHING there is to know about it. Because that has become one of the top lessons in our family.

I am so grateful for the health and wellness of my kids. I am so proud that I am doing the best that I possibly can to raise strong, smart, grounded, happy human beings. It is such a blessing to have grown within myself through that process.

I am the creepy mom that just smiles and hugs my kids at random times of the day just because seeing them healthy and happy is a constant reminder that we are winning.

fd6c093b2b48064e2fb37b5ef3dece01

 

One Comment on “My comments on your comments. Part 2”

  1. Amber Morrow says:

    Watching all of that happen first had and seeing the change in all of you has been heartwarming to all of us! Patrick is so proud of Nate and how he turned around into a different boy!

    Excuses are just shitty defense mechanisms to keep yourself from doing better! Pod for you for not having ANY!! I know it’s not easy, there is overwhelming and contradicting info, but once you have the basics down- you can’t go back!!!!

    PROUD OF YOU LADY~💋


Leave a Reply

