Split Pea Soup

I have been loving me some soups now that the weather is cooling down.

I love the warm filling feeling they give me.

I love how much nutrition you can pack into them.

I love how easy they are to make.

I made this one in the crock pot. It cooks for 4 to 5 hours and fills the house with the most yummy smell.

Just add the following ingredients to the crock pot in the order listed and do not stir them up:

  • 16 oz bag of dried split peas
  • 1 cup cubed lean ham ( I leave these in bigger chunks because I like the flavor but not actual bites of ham in my soup.)
  • 1 medium chopped onion
  • 2 chopped garlic cloves
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 5 cups boiling water

After it is done cooking, take out the bay leaves and add your choice of broth until it is the consistency that you like.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

