A peek inside

Who doesn’t love to look inside other people’s refrigerators? When I started changing my diet, this really helped me. I loved to see the “behind the scenes” of people’s kitchens. I ended up with a lot of inspiration for what to buy. This ultimately helped with the shopping trips. I am a huge list maker, so planning my trips was not so hard. The hard part was hunting down all of the new ingredients that I was not used to looking for. Once I got comfortable with finding the new things, going to the store became easier and easier. I try to do a big shopping trip every two weeks. Then once a week for fresh fruits and veggies. Today I will show you the inside of my refrigerator and talk about what is in there. I will do my pantry another day because there is a lot to cover. Keep in mind, this is one week from my big trip and before I did my extra trip, so it is not stuffed full.

  • Top shelf: Coconut milk, Almond milk, Vitamin Zero waters, bottled waters – I have Coconut milk because Almond milk doesn’t like me. The kids use the Almond milk. The Vitamin Waters are free of almost everything and the kids and my husband drink them on occasion, when they want something besides water. The waters are what I pack in my sons lunches because the kid could not keep a water bottle if his life depended on it.
  • Second shelf: Lettuce, spinach, zucchini, squash, carrots, eggplant, random half cut-up veggies – This is pretty much the veggie shelf. Easy and good to go, as veggies are.
  • Third shelf: Random left over food, sour cream, Parmesan cheese, plain greek yogurt, kids greek yogurt – Anything I have left over never usually lasts very long. I pack the kids yogurts in my son’s lunches.
  • Top drawer: Eggs – Lots and lots of eggs. Usually organic and fresh eggs. Love me some eggs.
  • Second drawer: Ham, string cheese, block cheese – Sometimes this drawer gets loaded down because it holds all of the cheese and sandwich making meats. I usually have pepperoni in here too. I like the block cheese because the shredded kind that you buy has corn and potato starch in it to keep from clumping and that just irritates me. 😉
  • Bottom drawer: Fresh meat – Usually this meat is thawing from the freezer.
  • Door: Butter, cream cheese, random condiments, Flax seed oil, salsa, sugar free jams and jellies, natural peanut butter, unsweetened applesauce, mayo, mustard – All used very little and/or sugar free.

I hope this helps you or inspires you.

Or at least satisfies your need to look inside someone’s fridge.

Leave a Reply

