Chicken Soup

Seriously, what else is there to say. Maybe except YUM! I love the way this soup makes my belly feel satisfied and content. I based the recipe off of Susan Powter‘s recipe. I added and changed a few things, but she still deserves the credit. The cool thing about this recipe is that you cook a whole chicken, so the rest of the chicken that you don’t use in the soup can be saved for another dinner. My family never lets that happen. The chicken is so good that we all eat it as a side dish with the soup.

This is the perfect cool weather Sunday dinner for me because I can start it a few hours before dinner time and let it simmer for a long time. I love the way it makes the house smell. I love the way we can all eat when we are hungry. I love the way I have left over soup for lunch the next day.

  • Whole organic chicken
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 10 carrots, chopped
  • Any other vegetable you want to put in, chopped ( have used squash and eggplant)
  • 4 of your favorite potatoes, chopped (I have used sweet and red)
  • Organic vegetable broth
  • Chicken bouillon, to taste
  • Water, to liking
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste

I use a huge pot big enough for the chicken and extra soup. I heat some olive oil in the bottom of the pot and cook one of the onions and garlic until the are lightly brown. Then I add enough water to fill half of the pan, keeping the heat high. I add bouillon until I like the taste. Then I dump in all of the veggies and the broth. As that heats to boiling, I rinse the chicken and salt and pepper it. When the broth and veggies are boiling, I add the chicken and bring it back to a rolling boil. If the broth is not covering the chicken I add more until it does. That boils for about 45 minutes. Then I remove the chicken and put it into a baking dish with olive oil. I add the potatoes and the other onion around the chicken. I add some salt and pepper and bake at 375 degrees for about an hour. The soup continues to simmer while the chicken cooks. When the chicken is done, I shred the meat and add it into the soup.

YUM!

As the weather changes, I hope you get a chance to indulge in this whole process as well as the wonderful nourishing food. I have found that cooking healthy meals for myself and my family is about so much more than just getting food on the table. The nourishing really does start from the time I pick the food up at the store or market. I am truly grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

