I love a blank canvas

Because it is “Retro Week” on Facebook, I used a picture of me when I was 18 years old.

I can’t believe this was almost 20 years ago. TWENTY.

WEIRD.

I can still hear myself. The way I used to sound in my head back then. So naive. So much blackness. Not blackness in the depressing teenage angst way, but more like blankness, like an empty canvas. I was learning so much and filling in the blackness with colors and lights. Emotions and knowledge. Wisdom and love.

Until today where the blackness is a smaller space.

There is still some there to be filled in.

Twenty years from now, I wonder how much blackness will be left.

I hope I always have some left. I hope things always amaze me. I hope I can always be surprised. I hope I can always learn. Gain wisdom. Feel new emotions and situations.

I hope I can always paint on blank canvas.

 

Dea Lorea

Leave a Reply

