In the works

In the title of this blog it says something about art. I just wanted to make sure you all know that I am actually going to post about my art. I have loved art all of my life. I have won awards and been told that I should pursue art as a career. For my own personal reasons, I have yet to do so. I like to think it has something to do with being an artist. But fear of actually showing my work to the world is a hard concept to confront. Though, I know part of it being art is that it is shared, interpreted by others, with different perceptions. It needs to be seen.

I also plan to sell my art. So, yet another step. Knowing that my work is hanging in someones home, office, whatever. What it will mean to the people who want it. What people will say when they see it. How it will make them feel.

I am at the stage in my life where I think I can handle it. I am comfortable with the part of my heart that I leave on the paper or canvas.  Letting go. What I feel about anything is only important to me and the most important reason to do what I love. Because it is my passion. It is what I am. What I do. What is inside me and needs to come out. I get a satisfaction from drawing and painting that nothing else can give me. One of the most wonderful blessings in the world would be to be able to do what I love, what I know I am supposed to do, and do it as work.

For now, I am going to share with you a drawing I have started. It is obviously not done and I don’t know yet if I will leave it just a drawing or if I will add it to something else, or paint it, or paint something around it. I only know what it will be when it happens. (Omg, another artist thing to say huh?) Enjoy this first part……for whatever it means to you, however it makes you feel, whatever it inspires in you, says to you……

Leave a Reply

