Perception

The bathtub in my bathroom had a leak in it and it ruined the floor. We gutted it and all of the floor (which was freakin CARPET UUGH. So glad that’s gone) and bought a new tub, wall surround and flooring about….. omg its been a year? Yeeeah I think its been more than a year actually. WTF? Seriously I am not a procrastinator. Ask anyone who knows me. I get shit done. So weird, and different for me to let something like this wait so long. I don’t want to give excuses like “We have had a lot going on.” Or “There is just not enough time.” Because although I could argue them to be true, the truth is I have just not been motivated to do it. We have another shower. And we have gotten into the habit of walking across the house to the other bathroom to take showers. We still can use the toilet and sinks, so I guess its one of those things where its not bad enough to hurry anything along. The other day though, I was thinking about how nice it would be to have our own shower again. I seriously forgot. This was a good lesson for me to think about what is most important in life, to different people. What I really need, what makes me happy, is really just all in my head. Its all about the way I see it. Its all about perception. This is important with so many things in life. What I feel is necessity is completely different than what someone else feels.

I read this quote yesterday by John Petit-Senn: “Not what we have but what we enjoy constitutes our abundance.”

I think this can be heard in a few different ways. One of the ways I hear it is that our happiness is where our focus of love is. Some people would look at my “bathroom situation” and feel bad about it or stressed out by it not being done. Where as I totally do not see it like that. If anything I am excited at the opportunity to build something new. Maybe that’s why I am waiting, so that I can enjoy the anticipation more. Subconsciously. Hmmm…interesting.

Anyway, I am posting pictures of the shower area. I am finally motivated to do this thing. I am going to share the before and afters with you. I dunno about you, but I love me some before and after pics. Of anything.

So far I have done the stuff on the floor to make it level because it was warped after the water damage. (Get used to my terms for materials and tools used. I know what it does and how to use it but I don’t wanna waste time with freakin correct names and junk.) (And also, a warning to perfectionists out there, things will not be done at a professional level. So don’t get all up in my shit. My dad is a professional at this stuff and I already hear him in my head while I am working. And I will never be as good as him and I am okay with that cuz he rocks this shit.)

After I took these pictures I painted a primer all over this whole area. So, now its white. And clean.

I am enjoying the process and will enjoy my shower when its back. And for now, its all good.

2 Comments on “Perception”

  1. […] is a slow process like I said it might be. Its all about perception. Slowly it is happening. I painted. I love the color. The contrast of […]

  2. Dee Fisher says:

    Just another way you are so like me! Love you bunches, Mom.


Leave a Reply

